Website Improvements

We are currently developing the website to improve our information, the way you can find information and to deliver more services online allowing you to access those services in a way that suits you.

View details of the location of Southwater One - the home of our new First Point and library.

Councillors, democracy and elections

Local democracy is about local people having a say on issues in their area, the Council working with residents in Telford and Wrekin to improve services, and ensuring that the Council makes decisions in the community's best interests.

The Borough is divided into 33 wards that elect 54 Councillors. Some wards have a single Councillor, others have two or three. Councillors are elected to represent all the residents in their ward. Borough elections are held every four years, with the next election due on 7 May 2015.

In terms of its political composition, the Council is currently Labour controlled. The Leader of the Council is Councillor Kuldip Sahota.

Each year the Council appoints a Cabinet and a number of Committees/Boards, who make decisions on all kinds of matters from planning applications to agreeing policies for the delivery of services. Most meetings of the Council, Cabinet and Committees/Boards are open to the public to attend, with most agendas, minutes and reports available for public inspection.

At the local level, there are 26 Parishes within the Borough, 24 of which have a Parish or Town Council. For Parliamentary elections, the Borough is divided into two constituencies - Telford and The Wrekin.

For more information relating to Councillors, democracy and elections, please choose from the options below.

Information on Councillors, democracy and elections

Last updated 25/05/2010

How do you rate this page?

News for you graphic

Information on...