Website Improvements

We are currently developing the website to improve our information, the way you can find information and to deliver more services online allowing you to access those services in a way that suits you.

View details of the location of Southwater One - the home of our new First Point and library.

World Heritage Sites

What are World Heritage Sites?

World Heritage logo The 1972 UNESCO World Heritage Convention is an international agreement based on the understanding that certain natural and cultural places on earth are of outstanding, universal value and as such, should form part of the common heritage of humankind.

The World Heritage List contains over 800 sites including places as unique and diverse as The Great Wall of China, The Pyramids of Egypt, the Great Barrier Reef in Australia and closer to home, Stonehenge, Hadrian's Wall, the Cities of Bath and Edinburgh, and of course, the Ironbridge Gorge which was inscribed on the World Heritage List in 1986.

The Ironbridge Gorge was included on the World Heritage Site List because of its unique role in the birth of the industrial Revolution which originated in Britain in the eighteenth century and later spread across the world.

For more information on World Heritage Sites, choose from the options below.

Last updated 08/07/2013

How do you rate this page?

Housing and Development Planning

Address: Telford & Wrekin Council
PO BOX 457
Wellington Civic Offices

Tel: 01952 384241