Who carries out scrutiny?

Scrutiny Committees

Most scrutiny work is carried out by the scrutiny committees. In Telford and Wrekin there are four committees which cover the range of services that the Council delivers. These are:

  • Finance & Enterprise Scrutiny Committee - Chair Councillor Nathan England
  • Children & Young People Scrutiny Committee - Chair Councillor Kevin Guy
  • Customer, Community & Partnership Scrutiny Committee - Chair Councillor Gilly Reynolds
  • Health & Adult Care Scrutiny Committee - Chair Councillor Andy Burford

Each scrutiny committee is made up of eight elected members and members of the public who have been co-opted for their specific skills and experience.

A sub-group of the Health & Adult Care Scrutiny Committee also sit on the Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin Joint Health Overview & Scrutiny Committee which scrutinises substantial changes to NHS services affecting both areas.

Scrutiny Management Board - Chair Councillor Nathan England

The Scrutiny Management Board is responsible for the strategic direction and oversight of the scrutiny function and work programme. The Board holds the Executive to account and reviews issues of a strategic cross-cutting nature. There are seven elected members on the Board including the chairs of the Scrutiny Committees.

Scrutiny Assembly Chair Councillor Nathan England

The Scrutiny Assembly is the collective body of all scrutiny members, whether they sit on a scrutiny committee or not, and the co-opted members of the public. The Scrutiny Assembly acts as a consultee on scrutiny matters and meets as required.

Most scrutiny meetings are held in public. View information about scrutiny committee meetings, agendas, minutes and papers.

  1. Introduction
  2. Contact