Worried about money?

There’s lots we can do to help. Find out what support is on offer.

Adult safeguarding

The Care Act: safeguarding adults

The Care Act 2014 sets out a clear legal framework for how local authorities and other parts of the system should protect adults at risk of abuse or neglect.

Telford & Wrekin Safeguarding Partnership  

Leads a multi-agency local adult safeguarding system that seeks to prevent abuse and neglect and stop it quickly when it happens. Visit the Telford & Wrekin Safeguarding Partnership website to view policies, procedures and key documents about safeguarding adults.

What is adult safeguarding?

Adult safeguarding is the term used to describe the function of protecting adults (18 or over who appear to have health and social care needs) from abuse or neglect. This is shared across a range of public services, but the key responsibility of the local authority.

An adult at risk may be a person who:

  • is elderly and frail due to ill health, physical disability or cognitive impairment
  • has a learning disability
  • has a physical disability and/or sensory impairment
  • has mental health needs
  • has a long term illness/condition
  • missuses substances or alcohol
  • is a carer such as family members and friends
  • is unable to demonstrate the capacity to make a decision and is in need of care and support.

Adults can be more at risk of abuse when they live:

  • alone
  • have care and support needs
  • depend on others for example to manage their money
  • find it difficult to communicate.

Where does the abuse occur?

Abuse can occur in a variety of different settings some examples of these are:

  • in a care home
  • in a public place
  • in a day centre
  • in an adults home
  • in a hospital.

Who is an Abuser?

Anyone can be an abuser:

  • friend
  • family
  • volunteer
  • neighbour
  • care worker

in fact anyone that has access to the adult.

What is adult abuse?

The Care Act 2014 guidance (page 233) describes different types of abuse which can affect people, especially when they are unable to protect themselves or tell their own story.

There are ten main categories of abuse, which are:

  • physical
  • sexual
  • psychological or emotional
  • financial or material
  • discriminatory
  • neglect and acts of omission
  • organisational or institutional
  • domestic violence
  • modern slavery and
  • self-neglect.

If you are worried about a vulnerable person who lives in the Telford and Wrekin area being abused or neglected by other people, please say something.

Last updated: 23/05/2022 16:50

  1. Safeguarding adults in Telford
  2. How to report abuse