Oakengates Recreation and Sports Ground, since renamed Hartshill Park, was opened in July 1927. The park was designed by Commander BT Coote and the work was overseen by Captain O’Kelly. Hartshill Park was established with money provided by the Miner’s Welfare Unit and was originally a colliery spoil tip, levelled in the 1920s to create a recreational space. In November 1928 the war memorial gates were unveiled in memory of the local men killed during the First World War.
Today Hartshill Park covers an area of 2.3 hectares and sits in a large residential area located in the Oakengates Parish, North-East of Telford. Hartshill Park has a number of facilities creating a unique sense of place often used by the public.
Facilities and features
- St. John's Ambulance building.
- One bowling green with bowling club and pavilion.
- Two small sided football pitches.
- Play facilities; equipped play area for 3 - 14 year olds.
- Tennis courts (all weather) x 2 floodlit.
- Outdoor gym.
- Floral displays.
- Conservation area.
- A bandstand.
- Grade ll listed memorial gates.
- Royal British Legion poppy bed.
- Miners memorial.
- Car parking.
- There is a car park located in Hartshill Park off Hadley Road.
- There is one disabled parking bay in this car park.
The location of Hartshill Park on Google maps
Last updated: 13/09/2022 08:32