Councillors allowances

The basic allowance is currently £9,444 per annum and is paid to every Councillor in recognition of the time commitment and other incidental expenses for carrying out the role to which they have been elected.

Special Responsibility Allowances (SRA) are allowances available to Councillors appointed to positions with additional responsibilities as determined by the Independent Remuneration Panel (IRP) in accordance with Statutory Guidance. These are shown in the following table.

Leader of the Council £29,603
Deputy Leader £18,647
Cabinet Member £14,166
Main Opposition Leader £11,804
Chairman of Planning Committee £9,444
Chairman of Licensing Committee £9,444
Chair of Scrutiny Management Board £8,557
Chairman of Scrutiny Committee £7,843
Chair of Audit Committee £7,870
Chair of Health & Wellbeing Board £7,870
Chairman of Standards Committee £3,935
Chair of Appeals Committee £3,935
Other Opposition Group Leader (minimum of 4 Members) £4,397
Speaker £2,867
Chairman of Appeals Committee £2,867

Councillors may also be eligible to claim additional expenses when undertaking approved duties as defined by the IRP.

View details of the allowances and reimbursements paid to Councillors.

Last updated: 10/12/2019 14:45

  1. Introduction
  2. Contact