Telford and Wrekin Driving Standards Assessment and Knowledge Test

Driver Awareness Training, Knowledge Test and Driving Standards Assessment

Providing you are satisfied that you meet the Council's Suitability Policy, you can book your theory and practical tests.  If you are not satisfied that you meet the suitability criteria, you might wish to book your tests later during the application process.

You will need to contact our approved training provider (TTC Driver Protect) to book your Driver Awareness Training and Knowledge Test (KT) (Theory Test) and also to book your Driving Standards Assessment (DSA) (Practical Test).

The cost of the theory test is £62.50 and the cost of the practical test is £95 (both are inclusive of VAT). Payment by credit/debit card must be made at the time of booking your tests by telephoning 03330 113113. You can also contact TTC by emailing You must ensure that you take photographic identification (driving licence) to the practical test. Failure to do so, will result in you not being able to proceed with the test.

To prepare for your theory test, please ensure that you read the Council's Licence Conditions. The theory test will consist of 2 parts:

  • classroom training on the 'do's' and 'don'ts' of taxi licensing, the Councils licence conditions, disability awareness, child sexual exploitation and health and safety advice for all prospective taxi drivers
  • a multiple-choice examination consisting of 35 questions.

To prepare for your practical test, please ensure you view the Driving Standard Assessment Information Pack. The practical test will involve the following:

  • a driving assessment taking no longer than one hour including a driver briefing, and vehicle check
  • being able to read a number plate from 20 metres
  • you will be required to answer two vehicle safety check questions
  • drivers must achieve no more than six faults. Any dangerous fault will result in an automatic failure.

Fault definitions:

  • minor fault - any driving fault that, on it's own, would not affect the safety or progress of any other road user
  • serious fault - if this is persistent and may, by it's persistence, affect the safety or progress of other road users
  • dangerous fault - any driving fault that would potentially affect the safety or progress of any other road user.

A decision on the practical test will be given to the applicant at the end of the assessment.

If you fail to pass the Knowledge Test or the Driving Standards Assessment on 3 occasions, you will not be able to proceed with your application and a period of three months must pass before you can apply again

Last updated: 05/09/2019 16:36

  1. Introduction
  2. Contact